Also known as "Juan Formell and Los Van Van", the most successful band in the history of Cuban popular music.

los van vanJuan Formell, who dabbled as a bassist in several groups of jazz and son, among them his passing through La Orquesta Revé, which marked much of the style he was looking for. After leaving this one, it decides to form its own band next to another member of the same orchestra, the pianist César "Pupy" Pedroso. They began their journey on December 4, 1969.
"Los Van Van", were the first Cuban band to use synthesizer. Known for creating new sounds, using instruments such as percussion, which in an original and unsurpassed way gave way to the creation of SONGO, in which they add elements taken from jazz and rock resulting in harmonic and melodic new timbres. José Luis Quintana (Changuito), Raúl Cárdenas (El Yulo), César Pedroso (Pupi), Fernando Leyva, Jesus Linares, Orlando Canto, José Luis Cortés (El Tosco), Julio Noroña, Gerardo Miró, William Sánchez, José Luis Martínez and Miguel Ángel Rasalps (El Lele), together with his Director, explored all possible forms and reached this rhythm that becomes the basis of his sonority.

At the end of the 70s they began recording their first five albums and debuting on international stages.
"Los Van Van", they continued their trajectory and changed their own style, they became the precursors of the genre that came to be known as timba, both on the island and in the world long before other big timba bands like; La Charanga Habanera and NG La Banda.

In the year 2000, after more than 30 years of work, they received the Grammy Award for Best Salsa Album "Van Van is here" or "Llegó Van Van".
The current members are:

  • Samuel Formell (Director)
  • Abdel Rasalps (Vocal)
  • Roberto Hernández "Roberton" (Vocal)
  • Yenisel Valdés (Vocal)
  • Pedro Fajardo (Violin)
  • Hugo Morejón (Trombone)
  • Álvaro Collado (Trombone)
  • Irving Frontela  (Violin)
  • Julio Noroña  (Guira)
  • Armando Ihosvany (Voice)
  • Yoel Cuesta  (Congas)
  • Jorge Leliebre  (Flute-Chorus)
  • Edmundo Pina  (Trombone)
  • Arnaldo Jimenez  (Bass)
  • Boris Luna (Keyboard)

This site uses cookies to improve your browsing. If you continue browsing, you accept its use.